Camille · Family · Hubby · Travel

Day 2: Taipei Zoo, Maokong Gondola, Da An Park

Today had much better weather. We woke up late and by the time we set off, it was pretty warm and dry.

We went to the Taipei Zoo today, having read reviews that it is rather good. I must say I was impressed. The entry was only 60 TWD (about S$2.7), making it about 10 times cheaper than Singapore zoo. The area was big, the enclosures well maintained and well designed. The toilets were clean, had many resting places and even water dispensers with warm/hot water. Jy has never been such an animal lover. She only enjoyed the giraffe enclosure. I think I liked it more than her.

During our short lunch picnic, we sat at a table with a Taiwanese family. We started chatting with them and I came to realize that Jy can be really chatty with strangers when she feels comfortable with them. She asked many questions and told them about our family too. I do hope she can maintain this as she grows up.

(Jy rating: 3, Ks rating: 5)

What she liked only started after the zoo. We took a shuttle to the Gondola Station. The gondola eventually brought us up all the way up the mountains to the Maokong Tea plantations area. With the cool air and natural surroundings, we really enjoyed it.

(Jy rating: 5, Ks rating: 5)

I suggested going to a night market after that. My idea got swiftly shot down. I then brought her to a playground at Da An Park. That’s the thing about bringing kids overseas. It’s all about them. Including dinner where I had to eat ramen for a second consecutive day cos she wanted noodles. I then told her that for holidays, we also need to ask each other what we would like to do, so that everyone can enjoy. She kinda understood. I shall test it out tomorrow then.

(Jy rating: 4, Ks rating: 3)

Again, she impressed me by her stamina. 14747 steps today with no naps. Guess the 12 hour sleep yesterday helped a lot.

She has been really understanding and helpful at times. (she asked me whether I needed help with the luggage yesterday on the Airport Train). She’s inquisitive and more mature than I thought her to be, sticking to time limits and listening to my instructions. So far, she has tried some food foreign to her. “I don’t like it but at least I try”.

Today, she mentioned quite a few times she misses Mummy and Didi. It really brings a smile to me, knowing how much she loves them. She even said: can we go back on Wed instead. During breakfast, she told me although sometimes she quarrels with didi, she loves him a lot. Also, after the zoo and gondola, we both agreed to bring Mummy and Didi the next time cos they would enjoy it. She can be such a family girl at times.

Let me hear ya!